Audyssey Speaker Large/Small & Crossover Setting??

408Revo

Hi everyone, I'm new to this so please bear with me if the answer is obvious. I know this topic has been discussed all over the net but I can't find the information I'm looking for.
I'm trying to understand exactly what these setting do to a speaker. I did some tests on REW to try to understand but now it seems that I'm completely confused.

I ran a sweep [20-200] on my main left speaker with the following:
Speaker set to Large with xover set to 100 and 40
Speaker set to Small with xover set to 100 and 40

I then did the exact same sweeps but with Audyssey Off [multeq xt32 off]

1. In every scenario there were frequencies below each xover setting. Why am I getting frequencies below these xover settings?
2. I didn't see much of a difference when speaker was selected large or small. I thought for sure if I had the speaker set to small, no low frequencies would make it to the speaker.
3. I did notice that with Audyssey on, I got a much flatter curve. That was the only difference I saw.

Maybe I'm doing something wrong when testing?
I decided to do this when I set my front speakers to Large after running Audyssey for the first time on my "new" x4500. My previous receiver was a x4000 and was able to tell a difference between small and large. Any help is greatly appreciated. thanks

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Staff member
More  
Preamp, Processor or Receiver
Yamaha CX-A5000 A/V Preamp / Processor
Main Amp
Yamaha RX-Z9 AV Receiver (as multichannel amp)
Universal / Blu-ray / CD Player
Denon DCT-3313 UDCI Universal Disc Player
Front Speakers
Canton Karat 920
Center Channel Speaker
Canton Karat 920
Front Wide Speakers
Realistic Minimus 7 (front EFX speakers)
Surround Speakers
Canton Plus D
Surround Back Speakers
Yamaha YDP2006 Digital Parametric EQ (front mains)
Front Height Speakers
Yamaha YDP2006 Digital Parametric EQ (surrounds)
Rear Height Speakers
Yamaha YDP2006 Digital Parametric EQ (sub)
Subwoofers
Hsu ULS-15 MKII